Mainsheet: So, what’s it like being a second semester senior?
Lindsay Szper: It’s really starting to sink in that this is the end of Chadwick for me.  It’s going to be so weird not coming back here next year.  So far the workload hasn’t changed that much, but I think my mindset has. I’m trying to cram as much Chadwick as I can into my last two months here. I’m playing softball, doing Starmites, maybe joining Chorus, Foreign Language Society is hoping to kick it up a notch this semester, and I want to get to know a bunch of the people I haven’t talked to enough in 13 years. So, it’s going to be a busy couple of months, I think. But fun busy. I’m so excited.
MS: What is your favorite aspect of being finished with the college process?
LS: It’s nice not having that extra little college thing on my mental to-do list.  I have one acceptance letter to University of Iowa. Waiting on the rest of my schools’ decisions has been a bit of a drag, but recently I’ve started to mentally photoshop myself into the brochures Iowa sends me. I’ve been cheering on the Hawkeyes at Big Ten basketball games, making snowmen, and starting a novel in a coffeeshop somewhere in Iowa City. So that’s been fun!
MS: What activities do you participate in at Chadwick? Which is your favorite?
LS: I did Debate for a long time.  Now I do Improv, Mariners, Spanish tutoring, cross country, softball . . . I think that’s about it.  Oh—and I’ve been going on the third grade trip every year since ninth grade. That’s a good one. Hanging out with the Chadwick eight-yeat-old population for a few days every year is the best. Honestly, we don’t play enough in high school.  And kids are so much smarter than we give them credit for! Last year, I think, I went on a hike with the youngest Toups kid, and he was teaching me all about the oil crisis.  Crazy.
MS: Many students know about your participation in CITYterm during the first semester of your junior year. Can you tell us about your experience?
LS: I’m not sure what to say other than that I absolutely loved it there.  Probably the best decision I made in high school was going to CITYterm (next is signing up for cross country). I was talking to Ms. Wund the other day, who did the week-long teacher version of CITYterm a few years ago, and we came to the conclusion that the program is kind of like a big cup of coffee.  It wakes you up so much.  One of the big ideas of CITYterm is that you can learn from everything around you, from city councilmen to homeless women to spider webs. Spending four months at a school that thought this way really woke me up to all the stuff there is out there to see and learn about. Going there permanently cafeinated my brain and life, and I feel so much more aware of and interested in basically everything.
MS: What was your favorite part of the trip?
LS: For me one of the best parts of CITYterm was living in a dorm with like-minded people. That’s one of the things I’m most looking forward to in college. I don’t have any siblings, so  it was totally new for me to live with people my age. Hanging out in the common room and watching late-night movies and sharing and clothes and secrets and stories with all the girls on my floor were all major CITYterm plusses.
MS: Do you plan on living in New York City when you’re older after your experience?
LS: Probably. My best friend from Texas and I have already started planning our apartment for five years from now.
MS: What part of the country are you most interested in for going to college?
LS: I want to go anywhere with snow that isn’t California.
MS: What about it attracts you the most?
LS: Ha, I don’t think I’m all that picky. I just don’t want to stay around here very much, since I feel like after seventeen years in LA, I’ve kind of been-there-done-that with California. Also I love seasons. I already know I’m that kid that will yell “IT’S SNOWING!!!!” at the top of my lungs in the middle of whatever class I’m in when winter starts. I can’t wait.
MS: Do you have any ideas of what you’re going to major in?
LS: Probably writing, linguistics, foreign language or some combination of the three. Basically I want to major in words.
MS: What do you think you’ll miss the most about Chadwick when you leave next year?
LS: Definitely my friends. There are so many great people at this school, and as much as I’m ready for the next step in education and life, I know I’m going to miss all my Chadwick friends so much.  I hope we all keep in touch!  Thank God for Facebook, I guess.
MS: Any parting words?
LS: I guess just thank you, Chadwick, for thirteen amazing years, and have a great rest-of-the-year and rest-of-Chadwick to my grade and the whole upper school. It’s been awesome up until now, and I can’t wait to see what the next two months will hold. We’re going to have so much fun.

