by Kelly Lee

Junior Andrew Knox is participating in program called the School for Ethics and Global Leadership (SEGL) in Washing D.C. during the second semester of the school year.
SEGL is a selective, semester-long residential program for high school juniors from across the United States who have shown great leadership skills and promising character.
No students from Chadwick have participated in the past, making Knox is the first student to join SEGL in D.C.
“I really wanted to have a new experience away from Chadwick. I really wanted to meet new people, and this is the perfect program for me. I am very interested in international relations, and this is a school that is tailored to what I want in education,” said Knox.
Adjusting to the new environment wasn’t too difficult for Knox, who quickly made new friends and learned to enjoy the positive aspects of being in an unfamiliar environment. Knox states that he misses everyone at Chadwick, but his busy schedule leaves him little time to think about home.
“I really enjoy everyone here, and it is great to be at a new school for the first time,” said Knox.
Knox’s daily life is hectic, yet productive. On the weekdays, he and his fellow SEGL students leave their house at 8:15 to get on the metro. Each day starts with a morning meeting followed by classes, lunch, and chores.
Weekends officially begin after lunch on Saturdays, where students have English class from 11-1. However, the rest of the time, they have the full liberty to do whatever they want.
Knox says that he usually goes with the flow and explores the beautiful and historic Washington D.C. With easy access to sight-seeing, the student dorms are within a few blocks of the U.S. Capitol building, the U.S. Supreme Court, the Library of Congress, the Smithsonian Museums, the National Mall, Eastern Market and various parks.
For students who want to participate in this program but are hesitant due to worries about the curriculum, Knox assures that the academics issue is not a problem.
The program offers more courses that a Chadwick student would not have the opportunity to take, including Comparative Government and Ethics and Leadership. However, Knox must still fulfill his English, US History, Pre Calc and Chinese courses.  “My entire Wednesday is dedicated to the Ethics and Leadership course, which provides me a break from all the other classes,” said Knox. “This usually consists of D.C. site visits and conversations with guest speakers.”
The semester away hasn’t caused any hesitance towards the Advanced Placement (AP) tests coming in May.
“All the teachers here are good at preparing all of us for the AP tests, so that hasn’t even crossed my mind,” says Knox.
Knox, whose been going to Chadwick since kindergarden, decided that the SEGL program would allow him to partake in new, different experiences.
“I just needed a change from Chadwick.  I needed to be in a new environment for once, and I wanted to have a chance to take classes that I really wanted to take, and SEGL gives me that freedom,” said Knox. “It is also going to be good practice for college. I think that this is an invaluable experience, and I am really glad that I am here.”

